

## **NEIGHBOURHOOD DESCRIPTION**

The MacEwan neighbourhood is located in southwest Edmonton and forms the northern boundary of the Heritage Valley Servicing Concept Design Brief (SCDB). MacEwan is one of 14 neighbourhoods planned for the Heritage Valley SCDB. The MacEwan Neighbourhood Area Structure Plan (NASP) was approved by City Council in 2001 and construction of the new neighbourhood began very shortly thereafter. MacEwan is bounded by the Anthony Henday ring road to the north, by the 127th Street Transportation and Utilities Corridor to the west, by Ellerslie Road (9th Avenue) to the south, and 111th Street to the east.

The MacEwan neighbourhood was planned for, and incorporates, low, medium and high density residential options as well as commercial, institutional and recreational land uses. Higher density housing is located next to commercial development in the southeast, along the 111th Street transit corridor, and adjacent to open spaces within the community. Lower density housing units are located within the interior of the neighbourhood and are oriented along curvilinear streets and cul-de-sacs. Pedestrian circulation is provided for through a series of pathways that connect throughout the neighbourhood and link the parks and natural areas together.

The Victory Christian Centre occupies a significant portion of land in the south central part of MacEwan. The Centre consists of church and school facilities and was in place prior to the residential development of the neighbourhood. Prior to urban development the remainder of the land in the area was in agricultural use with the exception of one natural area, the Virginia woodlot, which was maintained as part of the ultimate neighbourhood design.

MacEwan takes its name from John Walter Grant MacEwan (1902-2000) who was a local historian, author and politician. Grant MacEwan served as an alderman and Mayor of Calgary, as a member of the Legislative Assembly, and was the leader of the Alberta Liberal Party. From 1966 to 1974 Grant MacEwan served as the lieutenant-governor of Alberta, and received several honorary degrees over the course of his distinguished career. He also received the Order of Canada in 1975 and the Alberta Order of Excellence in 1982.