

EDMONTON DESIGN COMMITTEE MINUTES

Location: via Google Meet Tuesday, June 7, 2022

MEMBERS: PRESENT: J. Mills, Chair J. Mills, Chair A. Benoit, Vice-Chair A. Benoit D. Brown, Vice-Chair D. Brown K. Dieterman K. Dieterman A. Zepp A. Zepp T. Ziola T. Ziola J. Candlish J. Candlish M. Tindall M. Tindall N. Pryce N. Pryce N. LaMontagne N. LaMontagne

ALSO IN ATTENDANCE:

E. Voutchkov, Urban Planning and Economy Department, EDC Administration

A. Rowan, Urban Planning and Economy Department, EDC Administration

K. Bauer, Urban Planning and Economy Department, Planner

A. CALL TO ORDER AND RELATED BUSINESS

A.1. CALL TO ORDER

J. Mills called the meeting to order at 4:03 p.m.

A.2. ADOPTION OF AGENDA

MOTION: J. Mills

Motion to adopt the June 7, 2022 Agenda

SECONDED: J. Candlish

The motion was carried unanimously.

A.3. ADOPTION OF MINUTES - May 17, 2022 REGULAR MEETING

MOTION: J. Mills

Motion to adopt the May 17, 2022 Minutes.

SECONDED: N. Pryce

The motion was carried unanimously.

A.4. REQUESTS TO SPEAK

None.

B. PROJECT SYNOPSES (Closed to the Public)

MOTION: J. Mills

That Edmonton Design Committee meet in private pursuant to Section 24 (advice from officials) of the Freedom of Information and Protection of Privacy Act for the discussion of item B.1

SECONDED: D.Brown

The motion passed unanimously.

Edmonton Design Committee met in private at 4:08p.m.

C. APPLICATIONS

MOTION: J. Mills

That the Edmonton Design Committee meet in public.

SECONDED: A. Zepp

The motion passed unanimously.

The Edmonton Design Committee met in public at 4:28p.m.

FORMAL PRESENTATION (Open to the Public)

C.1. Queen Mary Park (DP) Nicholas Tam- Gravity Architecture

Motion of Support: A. Benoit Seconded: N. LaMontagne

The Committee supports this missing middle development within a central mature neighbourhood, but feels that this development should be a design precedent for future neighbourhood renewal and development in the area (Principle B4 and C1). As such, the applicant should work with administration to address the following:

- Implement design solutions to better accentuate a sense of entry. Strategies may include enhanced weather protection, landscape design, material changes, etc.
 Strategies to ensure the primary building entry method is universally accessible should be explored. (Principle A3)
- The landscape plan should provide well-defined and well-conceived design information that considers plantings that provide year-round form, texture, colour, continuity, accent, massing, and rhythm, and enhance and contribute to the overall form and function of the development (ie.defining entries, screening neighbouring overlooks, and enhance the development within the context). In addition, the landscape package should provide precedent images or details that illustrate the design intent for site furniture and features (Principle A2).
- The materials palette should be further evaluated to ensure the warmth and quality envisioned for the development (Principle B3 and B4) (ie. winter city and timeless materials).
- The proposed orientation of ground units and the large blank wall facing 114 Street limits the development's contribution to the public realm and neighbourhood context and does not encourage active street frontages. (Principle A3).

For the Motion: D. Brown, T. Ziola, N. LaMontagne, M. Tindall, K. Dieterman, A. Benoit, J. Mills

Against the Motion: K. Dieterman, N. Pryce

CARRIED

D. 2022-2023 ELECTIONS

T. Ziola joined the meeting.

Election for Chair

J. Mills let her name stand for Chair.

D. Brown nominated A. Benoit for Chair

No other nominations were made.

As a result of this voting, J. Mills was elected as Chair.

MOTION: A. Benoit

To elect J. Mills as Chair of the Edmonton Design Committee for the 2022-23 term.

SECONDED: K. Dieterman

Motion passed unanimously.

ABSTAIN: J. Mills CARRIED

Election for Vice-Chairs

D. Brown let his name stand for Vice-Chair.

A. Zepp nominated T. Ziola for Vice-Chair.

A. Benoit nominated K. Dieterman for Vice-Chair.

There were no more nominations for Vice-Chair.

A secret ballot was held to determine two Vice-Chairs. T. Ziola was elected as the first Vice Chair. A second ballot was held resulting in a tie between D. Brown and K. Dieterman. D. Brown withdrew his name from the vote. As a result of this voting, T. Ziola and K.Dieterman were elected Vice-Chairs for the 2022-23 term.

Motion: J. Mills

To approve T. Ziola and K. Dieterman as Vice-Chairs. for the 2022-23 term.

SECONDED: M. Tindall

Motion passed unanimously.

CARRIED

E. EDC Subcommittee Update

None.

F. UPCOMING APPLICATIONS, CONFLICTS AND REGRETS (June 21, 2022)

9912-84 Ave Apartments (Formal, DP)	Songlin Pan- SPAN Architecture
· · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · ·	

Ever Square (Formal, DP)	4710-Gateway Blvd	Blake Whelan- Stantec
--------------------------	-------------------	-----------------------

Conflicts: K. Dieterman (Ever Square), A. Zepp (Ever Square)

Regret: None

F. ADJOURNMENT

The meeting adjourned at 6:16 pm.

G. NEXT MEETING

Regular Meeting Tuesday, June 21, 2022 at 4:00 p.m. located via Google Meet