

EDMONTON DESIGN COMMITTEE MINUTES

Location: via Google Meet

Tuesday, June 6, 2023

MEMBERS:

J. Mills, Chair K. Dieterman, Vice-Chair T. Ziola, Vice-Chair D. Brown J. Candlish M. Tindall N. Pryce N. LaMontagne C. Kanna J. Monfries E. Dunn C. Dorward

D. Brown J. Candlish M. Tindall N. Pryce N. LaMontagne

PRESENT:

J. Mills, Chair

- J. Monfries
- E. Dunn
- C. Dorward

ALSO IN ATTENDANCE:

P. Spearey, Lead Urban Designer, Urban Planning and Economy DepartmentW. Sims, Urban Designer, Urban Planning and Economy DepartmentA. Rowan, Planning Technician, Urban Planning and Economy Department

A. CALL TO ORDER AND RELATED BUSINESS

A.1. CALL TO ORDER

J. Mills called the meeting to order at 4:03p.m.

A.2. ADOPTION OF AGENDA

MOTION: J. Mills

Edmonton Design Committee Minutes June 6, 2023

Motion to adopt the June 6, 2023 Agenda

SECONDED: D. Brown

The motion passed unanimously.

A.3. ADOPTION OF MINUTES - May 16, 2023 REGULAR MEETING

MOTION: J. Mills

Motion to adopt the May 16, 2023 Minutes

SECONDED: M. Tindall

The motion passed unanimously.

A.4. REQUESTS TO SPEAK

None.

B. PROJECT SYNOPSES (Closed to the Public)

MOTION: J. Mills

That Edmonton Design Committee meet in private pursuant to Section 24 (advice from officials) of the Freedom of Information and Protection of Privacy Act for the discussion of item B.1

SECONDED: C. Dorward

The motion passed unanimously.

Edmonton Design Committee met in private at 4:06p.m.

C. APPLICATIONS

INFORMAL PRESENTATION (Closed to the Public)

C.1 PSVLAB

Genevieve Simms- HCMA

C.2 Affordable Housing Highrise (RZ) Daniel Enaohwo- Electric Drawing Board

MOTION: J. Mills

That the Edmonton Design Committee meet in public.

SECONDED: D. Brown

The motion passed unanimously.

The Edmonton Design Committee met in public at 5:35p.m

D. UPCOMING APPLICATIONS, CONFLICTS AND REGRETS (Tuesday June 20, 2023)

None.

MOTION: J. Mills

That the June 20 regular EDC meeting be canceled, as there are no applications.

SECONDED: N. Pryce

The motion passed unanimously.

Next EDC meeting will be July 4, 2023. N. LaMontagne will not be present for this meeting.

E. OTHER BUSINESS

E.1 2023/2024 ELECTIONS

Election for Chair

D. Brown nominated J. Mills for Chair.

No other nominations were made.

MOTION: D.Brown

To elect J. Mills as Chair of the Edmonton Design Committee for the 2023-24 term.

SECONDED: N. Pryce

For the Motion: C. Dorward, D. Brown, E. Gunn, J. Candlish, J. Monfries, M. Tindall, N. LaMontagne, N. Pryce

ABSTAIN: J. Mills

CARRIED

Election of Vice-Chairs

D. Brown nominated N. LaMontagne for Vice-Chair.

J. Mills nominated T. Ziola for Vice-Chair

No other nominations were made.

MOTION: J. Mills

That N. LaMontagne and T. Ziola are elected Vice-Chairs of the Edmonton Design Committee for the 2023/24 term.

SECONDED: N. Pryce

For the Motion: C. Dorward, D. Brown, E. Gunn, J. Candlish, J. Monfries, M. Tindall, N. LaMontagne, N. Pryce.

ABSTAIN: N. LaMontagne

CARRIED

F. ADJOURNMENT

The meeting adjourned at 5:45pm.

G. NEXT MEETING

Regular Meeting Tuesday July 4, 2023 at 4:00 p.m. Hybrid Meeting