

THE CITY OF EDMONTON BYLAW 20673 EDMONTON DESIGN COMMITTEE BYLAW

Edmonton City Council enacts:

.

PART I - INTERPRETATION

PURPOSE	1		The purpose of this bylaw is to establish the Edmonton Design Committee as a council committee, and to establish its membership and mandate.						
DEFINITIONS	2	(1)	same meaning as defined in the <i>Municipal Government Act</i> , RSA 2000, c M-26.						
		(2)							
			(a) " City " means The City of Edmonton;						
			(b) " City Manager " means the chief administrative officer of the City or delegate;						
			(c) " Council " means the City's council;						
			(d) " site " has the same meaning as defined in the Edmon Zoning Bylaw, Charter Bylaw 20001; and						
			(e) " urban design " means the design of the built environment and how buildings and the public realm around and between them are designed to create a walkable, vibrant, and inclusive city.						
RULES FOR INTERPRETATION	3		The marginal notes and headings in this bylaw are for ease of reference only.						
	PART II - MANDATE								
MANDATE	4		The mandate of the Edmonton Design Committee will be to improve the quality of the City's urban design by providing						
			(a) recommendations regarding development applications;						

Page 1

and

- (b) advice regarding urban design policies and principles.
- To carry out its mandate, the Edmonton Design Committee:
- (a) must provide recommendations to the City Manager regarding development permit applications that are referred to it in accordance with this bylaw or the Edmonton Zoning Bylaw, Charter Bylaw 20001;
- (b) must provide recommendations to Council on comprehensive rezoning applications, including direct control provisions, that are referred to it in accordance with this bylaw or the Edmonton Zoning Bylaw, Charter Bylaw 20001;
- (c) may provide recommendations on any development application, public project, or other urban design matter referred to it by Council or the City Manager;
- (d) may provide recommendations to applicants seeking development approval from the City on the request of the applicant; and
- (e) must develop urban design principles to guide the actions set out in subsections (a) (d).
- (1) The City Manager must refer the following applications to the Edmonton Design Committee:
 - (a) development permit applications for any site located within the geographic area outlined in Schedule A; and
 - (b) rezoning applications that involve:
 - (i) any site equal to or greater than 1 hectare that is located within 400 metres of an existing or planned mass transit station, LRT stop, or transit centre; or
 - (ii) any site located within the geographic area outlined in Schedule A.

(2) The City Manager may exempt any application from this section.

FUNCTIONS & AUTHORITIES

5

6

REFERRALS

PART III - MEMBERSHIP

MEMBERSHIP

7

The Edmonton Design Committee will be comprised of up to 12 members appointed by Council as follows:

- (a) one member nominated by the Association of Professional Engineers and Geoscientists of Alberta;
- (b) up to two members nominated by the Alberta Association of Landscape Architects;
- (c) up to two members nominated by the Alberta Professional Planners Institute;
- (d) one member nominated by the Edmonton Arts Council;
- (e) one member who is a faculty member of an Edmonton post-secondary institution, with a teaching or research focus related to urban design;
- (f) up to three members who are Registered Architects with the Alberta Association of Architects;
- (g) one member representing the development industry; and
- (h) one member at large.

PART IV - TRANSITION & REPEAL

TRANSITION	8	On the coming into force of this bylaw, members appointed to the Edmonton Design Committee will continue to be members until the expiry of their current term.
REPEAL	9	The Edmonton Design Committee Bylaw, Bylaw 19784, is repealed.
COMING INTO FORCE	10	This bylaw comes into force on January 1, 2024.

READ a first time this	24th	day of	October	2023;
READ a second time this	24th	day of	October	2023;
READ a third time this	24th	day of	October	2023;
SIGNED AND PASSED this	24th	day of	October	2023.

THE CITY OF EDMONTON

A- Sohi

MAYOR

Gobach,

CITY CLERK

SCHEDULE A EDMONTON DESIGN COMMITTEE GEOGRAPHIC JURISDICTION

A. The following neighbourhoods:

- 1. Queen Mary Park;
- 2. Oliver;
- 3. Portion of the River Valley;
- 4. Rossdale;
- 5. Riverdale;
- 6. Boyle Street;
- 7. McCauley;
- 8. Central McDougall; and
- 9. Downtown.

B. The following areas:

10. the area bounded by 112 Avenue, 82 Street, 112 Avenue to Jasper Avenue, Jasper Avenue, 82 Street to 84 Street, 84 Street, Jasper Avenue to 112 Avenue;

11. one block on both sides of 99 Street between Argyle Road and Saskatchewan Drive;

12. one block on both sides of 103 Street, 104 Street, Calgary Trail and Gateway

Boulevard between Saskatchewan Drive and the southern limit of the City of Edmonton;

13. one block on both sides of Whyte (82) Avenue between Mill Creek and 112 Street;

14. one block on both sides of 109 Street between 61 avenue and Saskatchewan Drive.

If there is an inconsistency between this list and the attached map, the attached map is of no force or effect to the extent of the inconsistency.

